The High Sheriff's Diary 2017/18

JULY 2017


Monday 24th July:
- Visited Alabaré Home for Veterans, Gloucester

Saturday 22nd July:
- Visited and took part in the Choose Zero Road Safety Campaign, run by the Gloucestershire Special Constabulary

Thursday 20th July:
- Attended 50th Anniversary celebration of International Centre for Birds of Prey, Newent, in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
- Attended The Lakes Care Centre, South Cerney, in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
- Attended Aerospace Bristol Inaugural Dinner under Concorde, Filton, in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal

Wednesday 19th July:
- Visited Aston Project Multi Agency Parents Event at Gloucester North Community Fire Station
- Attended HQ Allied Reaction Corps French National Day Celebration in Imjin Barracks, Innsworth

Tuesday 18th July:
Attended Aston Project Stakeholders Meeting at Hester’s Way Police Station, Cheltenham

Monday 17th July:
- Attended Opening of Future Space at the University of the West of England in the presence of HRH The Duke of York

Sunday 16th July:
- Attended the Royal International Air Tattoo at RAF Fairford

Friday 14th July:
- Gave address and presented awards at the Ruskin Mill Leavers Ceremony, Nailsworth.
- Attended the High Sheriff of Herfordshire’s Garden Party

Thursday 13th July:
- Gave presentation at Thomas Keble School, Chalford, Stroud
- Attended Kingfisher Treasure Seekers Summer Celebration at Police HQ, Waterwells Drive, Quedgeley

Wednesday 12th July:
- Met with Eugene O’Kane at Shire Hall, Gloucester, to discuss  coordinated approach to provision of support for vulnerable young people

Tuesday 11th July:
- Attended Gloucestershire Young Carers Development Board Meeting, Twigworth

Saturday 8th July:
- Gave address and presented awards at Gloucestershire Adult Education Achieve and Succeed event, Gloucester
- Visited Skillzone and Gloucestershire Fire and Rescue Service Open Day at Tuffley, Gloucester

Friday 7th July:
- Attended NFU event at Kingscote, Tetbury
- Attended High Sheriff of Warwickshire’s Garden Party

Thursday 6th July:
- Attended Remembering Srebenica Commemoration Event at Cheltenham Municipal Offices

Wednesday 5th July:
- Attended 50th Anniversary event at the National Star Centre, Ullenwood, in the presence of HRH The Countess of Wessex

Tuesday 4th July:
- Court sitting with Mr Justice Phillips, Bristol Law Courts

Monday 3rd July:
- Attended CCP VIP event in Cheltenham to mark launch of charity under the new name Caring for Communities and People

Sunday 2nd July:
- Attended Cadet and Youth Tattoo on Fisher’s Meadow, Quedgeley, and presented new Gloucestershire Constabulary Standard to Gloucestershire Police Cadets

JUNE 2017

Friday 30th June:
- Attended Getting Court initiative, Gloucester Crown Court

Thursday 29th June:
- Attended opening of Giraffe House at the Wild Place Project, Bristol

Wednesday 28th June:
-Visited the Butterfly Garden at Bamfurlong, Cheltenham
- Visited Fresh Air Sculpture Exhibition, Quenington
- Attended HQ Allied Rapid Reaction Corps US National Day Celebration, Imjin Barracks, Innsworth

Tuesday 27th June:
- Visited Gloucestershire Fire and Rescue Service and Skillzone, Gloucester

Monday 26th June:
- Attended Cheltenham Trust presentation, Cheltenham Town Hall

Saturday 24th June:
- Attended Armed Forces Day Parade at Staple Hill, South Gloucestershire24th June 2017
-Attended Armed Forces Day Parade at Staple Hill, South Gloucestershire

Thursday 22nd June:
- Attended Cheltenham Mock Trial Competition for Primary Schools, Cheltenham Municipal Offices.
- Attended HQ Allied Rapid Reaction Corps Queen’s Birthday Reception and Sounding Retreat, Imjin Barracks, Innsworth

Wednesday 21st June:
- Attended High Sheriff of Bristol’s Concert in Bristol Cathedral

Tuesday 20th June:
- Attended Reserve Forces and Cadets Association Gloucestershire County Briefing, Gloucester

Sunday 18th June:
- Attended Gloucestershire Society Annual Service, St Arilda’s Church, Oldbury-on-Severn

Friday 16th June:
- Attended Royal Three Counties Show at the Showground, Malvern
- Visited Millbrook Lodge Care Home, Brockworth, to present Legion d’Honneur to Mr Arthur Parish

Thursday 15th June:
- Chaired High Sheriff’s Fund Grants Meeting at Compton Abdale

Wednesday 14th June:
- Meeting with Kate Langley, Service Manager Youth Justice, at Office of Police and Crime Commissioners, Waterwells Drive, Quedgeley
- Attended Honourable Company of Gloucestershire Community Support Group meeting, Cheltenham
- Attended Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum Reception, Stanway House

Monday 12th June:
- Attended  RAF Fairford Civic Day as guest of US Air Force
- Visited WAM (We all Matter) youth charity in Winchcombe
- Visited Stroud Beresford Group, Stroud

Sunday 11th June:
- Hosted Innsworth Military Wives Choir Concert in Compton Abdale in aid of The Royal British Legion 
- Hosted Café Théâtre Dinner in Compton Abdale in aid of Gloucestershire Young Carers

Saturday 10th June:
- Visited Tewkesbury Sea Cadets Regatta, Tewkesbury Marina
- Attended Wayside Cross Service of Rededication in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal in North Woodchester

Friday 9th June:
- Hosted High Sheriff’s Garden Party, Compton Abdale

Thursday 8th June:
- Attended Gloucestershire Community Foundation Annual Celebration, Highnam Court
- Attended General Election Count for the Cotswolds Constituency as Returning Officer

Wednesday 7th June:
- Attended Choral Evensong and Dinner with the Honourable Society of the Inner Temple, London

Friday 2nd June:
- Met Mr Nigel Adams, Acting Returning Officer for the Cotswolds Constituency

MAY 2017

Sunday 28th May:
- Speaker at Grenadier Guards Association Lunch, Hatherley Manor Hotel

Friday 26th May:
- Attended Getting Court initiative, Gloucester Crown Court
- Met the Recorder of Gloucester and Ms Di Harrill to discuss Getting Court

Thursday 25th May:
- Attended Getting Court initiative for South Gloucestershire schools, Bristol Law Courts
- Attended reception hosted by The Sheriffs of the City of London, The Old Bailey, London

Wednesday 24th May:
- Attended meeting in Shire Hall, Gloucester

Tuesday 23rd May:
- Attended South West Shrieval Lunch, London
- Attended Garden Party, Buckingham Palace

Monday 22nd May:
- Visited HMP Eastwood Park, Wotton-under-Edge
- Visited the Wilderness Centre, Mitcheldean

Sunday 21st May:
- Visited Gloucestershire Youth Mini Bike Project, Gloucester

Friday 19th May:
- Attended Getting Court initiative for teachers, Gloucester Crown Court

- Met with Mr Tony Dale, District Commissioner North Cotswold District Scouts
- Attended Honourable Company of Gloucestershire Warden’s Installation Dinner, Berkeley Castle

Thursday 18th May:
- Attended Avon and Somerset Police Awards Ceremony, Congresbury

Wednesday 17th May:
- Attended Multi Agency Forum meeting at Gloucester North Community Fire and Rescue Station

Tuesday 16th May:
- Court sitting with Mr Justice Holroyde, Bristol Law Courts
- Court sitting with Mr Justice Holgate, Bristol Law Courts

Monday 15th May:
- Attended Home Farm Trust Celebration in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal, Bristol and Bath Science Park
- Dinner for High Court Judges in Bristol

Saturday 13th May:
- Opened Fair Shares Summer Celebration, Friendship Café, Gloucester
- Attended Music in Country Churches concert in Cirencester Parish Church in the presence of HRH The Prince of Wales

Friday 12th May:
- Visited Police Child Protection Investigation Team,  Waterwells Drive, Quedgeley
- Visited Forensics Department, Waterwells Drive, Quedgeley
- Met Rod Hansen, Chief Constable, Gloucestershire Constabulary
- Visited Tewkesbury Police Station
- Visited Tewkesbury Food Bank
- Met Mr Mike Dawson, Chief Executive Tewkesbury Borough Council
- Attended Chair of South Gloucestershire’s Charity Dinner, Filton

Thursday 11th May:
- Attended HQ Allied Rapid Reaction Corps Sounding Retreat and Anniversary Dinner, Imjin Barracks, Innsworth

Wednesday 10th May:
- Visited Krunch SW, Thornbury, with Mayor of Thornbury
- Visited Phase, Thornbury, with Mayor of Thornbury
- Visited Street Space, Thornbury, with Mayor of Thornbury

Tuesday 9th May:
- Met Julie Finch, Chief Executive of the Cheltenham Trust, at the Wilson, Cheltenham
- Chaired South Gloucestershire Getting Court meeting, Almondsbury
- Attended Tewkesbury Borough Mayor Making Ceremony

Monday 8th May:
- Attend Election of the Tewkesbury Town Mayor, Tewkesbury

Saturday 6th May 2017
- Attended Funeral Eucharist for Bishop Michael Perham in Gloucester Cathedral

Friday 5th May 2017
- Met with Magistrates Court staff, Twyver House, Gloucester
- Met with National Probation Service and Community Rehabilitation Company (Working Links) staff at Twyver House, Gloucester
- Met with Crown Court staff at Gloucester Crown Court

Wednesday 3rd May:
- Visited Aspire Gloucestershire project, Ladybellegate Street, Gloucester
- Visited Forest Fighting Fit boxing club, Cinderford

Tuesday 2nd May:
- Met with Fundraising and Events Managers for Gloucestershire Young Carers

APRIL 2017

Friday 28th April:
- Attended Getting Court initiative at Gloucester Crown Court

Wednesday 26th April:
- Visited Barnwood Trust, Ullenwood, to speak with Dr Sally Byng, Chief Executive
- Visited Police Control Room, Waterwells Drive, Quedgeley
- Gave presentation to Gloucestershire Police Cadets at Waterwells Drive, Quedgeley

Tuesday 25th April:
- Visited Ruskin Mill, Nailsworth, with Honourable Company of Gloucestershire.

Monday 24th April:
- Attended Trustee Induction Course at Quartet Community Foundation, Bristol.
- Attended St George’s Day Service in Gloucester Cathedral

Sunday 23rd  April:
- Visited Aston Project at Forest of Dean Activities Festival.
- Attended The Royal British Legion ANZAC Day Parade and Memorial Service at Leighterton

Friday 21st April:
- Visited HMP Leyhill, Wotton-under-Edge.
- Meeting with Innsworth Military Wives Choir.
- Attended Mayor of Gloucester’s Charity Ball, Imjin Barracks, Innsworth.

Thursday 20th April:
- Visited Aston Project at Hesters Way Police Station, Cheltenham.
- Visited Change Grow Live (CGL), Gloucester.  CGL provides treatment and support for people dealing with substance misuse.

Wednesday 19th April:
- Attended lunch for High Sheriffs with Mrs Sue Mountstevens, Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner, and Andy Marsh, Chief Constable Avon and Somerset Constabulary, at Avon and Somerset Police HQ

Tuesday 18th April:
- Participated in Eastwood Extreme fun run at HMP Eastwood Park, Wotton-under-Edge

Thursday 13th April: 
- Visited Aston Project Woodland Project at Cranham Scout Hut
- Attended Kitchen Challenge, run by the Wiggly Worm, at the Gloucestershire International School

Monday 10th April:
- Met with Mr Martin Surl, Gloucestershire Police and Crime Commissioner

Thursday 6th April:
- Attended Declaration of Office of new High Sheriff of Herefordshire at Hereford Crown Court

Wednesday 5th April:
- Visited Nelson Trust ISIS Women’s Centre and the Hub Bistro, Gloucester.
- Dinner for Judges, Cirencester Park.

Tuesday 4th April:
- Attended Gloucester Community Foundation meeting at Highnam Court

Monday 3rd April:
- Visited Friendship Café, Chequers Bridge Centre, and St James City Farm, Gloucester

Sunday 2nd April:
- High Sheriff Declaration Gloucester Cathedral. Declaration of Office of new High Sheriff, Lieutenant Colonel Andrew Tabor JP