The High Sheriff's Diary 2016/17

MARCH 2017
Wednesday 14th March:
- Ladies Day at Cheltenham Festival
Tuesday 13th March:
- Cirencester Mock Trials Competition
- Champion Day at Cheltenham Festival
Sunday 12th March:
- Freemason Service, Gloucester Cathedral
Friday 10th March:
- Visit to the Cheltenham Trust/The Wilson, Cheltenham
Thursday 9th March:
- Stroud Mock Trials Competition
- Visit to Alabare Home for Veterans, Gloucester
- Attend Gloucester Crown Court Call In
- Ampney Crucis WI 100 year birthday celebration
Wednesday 8th March:
- Visit to Blackrock Firearms Specialist Training Unit, Portishead
Tuesday 7th March:
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Civil Justice Centre
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court
Monday 6th March:

- Visit to The Milestone School, Gloucester
Sunday 5th March:
- Fundraiser car wash, Tetbury Fire Station
Friday 3rd March:
- Visit to Minchinhampton RFC in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
- Late shift with Gloucestershire Police Response Unit
Thursday 2nd March:
- Visit to Gloucester Coroners Court
- Dinner for Judges sitting at Bristol Crown Court
Wednesday 1st March:
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Civil Justice Centre
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court

FEBRUARY 2017
Tuesday 28th February:
- Visit to Digitech Studio School, Warmley in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
- Visit to Gloucestershire Bike Project, Gloucester
Monday 27th February:
- Visits to Gloucestershire Constabulary Police HQ, Bamfurlong Operations Centre and Cheltenham Police Station with Lt. Col. Andrew Tabor (Incoming High Sheriff 2017/18)
- Present High Sheriff Awards at Gloucester Crown Court
Friday 24th February:
- HMP Eastwood Park WI Meeting
- Opening of new Performing Arts Centre at Rendcomb College
Thursday 23rd February:
- Visit to Royal Mail Depot, Bristol
Wednesday 22nd February:
- Abbey 900 Tree Planting Ceremony, Cirencester Parish Church
- Official opening of the new St James Place Building, Cirencester
- Abbey 900 Opening Service, Cirencester Parish Church
Tuesday 21st February:
- Visit to The Wild Place Project, South Gloucestershire
- Visit to The University of the West of England
- Visit to Bristol and Bath Science Park
- Visit to Page Park, South Gloucestershire
- Visit to The Jessie May Trust, South Gloucestershire
- Visit to Kingswood Community Transport, South Gloucestershire
- Visit to Avon Valley Railway, South Gloucestershire
- Single Gloucester Project Reception, Cheltenham
Monday 20th February:
- Visits to HMP Eastwood Park, HMP Leyhill and HMP Ashfield with Lt. Col. Andrew Tabor (Incoming High Sheriff 2017/18)
Saturday 18th February:
- Visit to SARA Beachley Lifeboat Station & trip out on SARA16 Lifeboat
Friday 17th February:
- Visit to Salter's Hill, Ledbury in the presence of HRH The Duke of Gloucester
- Visit to Holy Trinity Church, Minchinhampton in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
Thursday 16th February:
- Visit to HMP Bristol
- High Sheriff of Bristol Reception
- Dinner with Judge Sitting at Bristol Crown Court
Wednesday 15th February:
- Election of Verderer for HM Forest of Dean, Gloucester Cathedral
Tuesday 14th February:
- Visit to Gloucestershire Constabulary Child Sexual Exploitation Department, Glos Police HQ
- Visit to MY:UK Glowsports Activity, Gloucester
Friday 10th February:
-Royal Agricultural University Rugby Match
- Shift with Cotswold Rural Enviromental Crime Policing Team
Thursday 9th February:
- Royal Agricultural University Tractor Pull through Cirencester
(supporting 3 charities including the High Sheriff's Fund)
- Church Service at The Royal Agricultural University
Wednesday 8th February:
- Visit to Tewkesbury Sea Cadets
Tuesday 7th February:
- Visit to The Link (Young Gloucestershire), Gloucester
- Visit to The Cavern & Treasure Seekers, Gloucester
Monday 6th February:
- Wave The Royal Agricultural University Students off on RAG Rally
(supporting 3 charities including the High Sheriff's Fund)
Sunday 5th February:
- Judge Yorkshire Pudding Contest at The Golden Cross Inn, Cirencester
- Official RAG Week Launch at the Royal Agricultural University 
(supporting 3 charities including the High Sheriff's Fund)
Thursday 2nd February:

- Address the GGLC, Gloucester

JANUARY 2017
Monday 30th January:
- Observing Police Dog Training, Cirencester Park
Sunday 29th January:
- The Mayor of Lydney's Civic Reception
Wednesday 25th January:
- The Pied Piper Appeal's 25th Anniversary Reception, Gloucester Rugby Club
Monday 23rd January:
- Visit to The Friendship Cafe and Tredworth Amateur Boxing Club, Gloucester
Friday 20th January:
- Visit to Robert Welch Designs, Chipping Campden in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
- The Forest of Dean Verderers Court 
- 29 Regiment RLC Rorke's Drift Dinner, South Cerney
Tuesday 17th January: 
- Visit to Cirencester Fire Station
Monday 16th January:
- Annual Presentation Evening of Training Ship Gloucester Sea Cadets
Saturday 14th January:
- Multi Faith Event at Gloucester Cathedral
Friday 13th January:
- Speaking at Gloucester Rotary Club 

DECEMBER 2016
Friday 30th December:
- Shift with Gloucestershire Police Specials, Cirencester for Drink/Drive Roadside initiative
Friday 23rd December:
- Gloucester Rotary Club Christmas Lunch
- HMP Eastwood Park Carol Service
Thursday 22nd December:
- Visit to Sue Ryder Hospice, Leckhampton in the presence of HRH The Prince of Wales
Wednesday 21st December:
- HMP Leyhill Carol Service
Tuesday 20th December:
- HMP Ashfield Carol Service
- Ecclesiastical Carol Concert, Gloucester Cathedral
Friday 16th December:
- Gloucestershire Police and Emergency Services Carol Concert, Gloucester Cathedral
Thursday 15th December:
- HMP Eastwood Park Celebration Event
Wednesday 14th December:
- Visit to Longfield, Minchinhampton
Tuesday 13th December:
- ARRC Christmas Carol Service, Tewkesbury Abbey
- Cheltenham North Rotary Club Carol Concert at Cheltenham Ladies College
Sunday 11th December:
- Inauguration of The Bishop of Tewkesbury, Gloucester Cathedral
Saturday 10th December: 
- North Cotswold Rotary Club Carol Concert, The Cotswold School
Wednesday 7th December: 
- Aden Veterans Association Christmas Lunch
- The Chair of The Forest of Dean Council’s Christmas Carol Concert
Tuesday 6th December:
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court

NOVEMBER 2016
Wednesday 30th November:
- Christmas Service in aid of Muscular Dystrophy, Gloucester Cathedral
Tuesday 29th November:
- Dinner for Judges sitting at Bristol Crown Court
Sunday 27th November:

- Royal Glos Hussars Yeomanry Remembrance Service for the battle at Bir El Gubi in 1941, Badminton Church
Friday 25th November:
- Visit to Kingfisher Treasure Seekers
- HMP Eastwood Park WI Meeting
- Night Shift with the Forest of Dean Police
Thursday 24th November:
- Community policing shift
- Visit to The Brockworth Community Project
Tuesday 22nd November:
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Sunday 20th November:
- 70th Anniversary of Chelt Bach Choir at Cheltenham Town Hall in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
Wednesday 16th November:
- Riding for the Disabled AGM in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
- Gloucestershire Fire Awards
Tuesday 15th November:
- Dinner for Judges sitting at Bristol Crown Court
Monday 14th November:
- Gloucestershire Police dogs licence testing in Cirencester Park
- Longfield Reception, Gloucester Cathedral
Sunday 13th November:
- Remembrance Day Service in Cirencester
- Remembrance Day Service at Gloucester Cathedral
- The Festival of Remembrance at Cheltenham Town Hall
Saturday 12th November:
- The High Sheriff of Gloucestershire’s Race Day, Cheltenham Racecourse
Friday 11th November:
- HMP Ashfield Armistice Day Service
Thursday 10th November:
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court
- Cotswold Taste Regional Launch, Witney
Tuesday 8th November:
- Gloucestershire Health and Social Awards, Gloucester Cathedral
Monday 7th November:
- Inaugural Evensong of the girl choristers, Gloucester Cathedral
Sunday 6th November:
- Tewkesbury Borough Mayor Civic Service, Tewkesbury Abbey
Thursday 3rd November:
-
Dinner in celebration of 300 years of Cheltenham as a Spa Town
Wednesday 2nd November:
- WTT Slimbridge Wetland Centre 70th Anniversary celebration in the presence of HRH The Prince of Wales
Tuesday 1st November:
- Shift with Gloucestershire Police Dogs Unit
- Gloucestershire Young Carers Forum

OCTOBER 2016
Friday 28th October:
- Opened Cotswold Dogs and Cats Home new furniture/décor shop in Cirencester
- The Forest of Dean Verderers Court
- Night shift with the Cheltenham Police Street Safe Officers
Wednesday 26th October:
- Visit to Precision Dippings, Yate, British Corner Shop, Iron Acton and Helipebs Controls Ltd, Gloucester in the presence of HRH The Duke of Kent
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Sunday 23rd October:
- Glos St John County Group Thanksgiving Service, Tewkesbury Abbey
Thursday 20th October:
- Poppy Appeal 2016 Launch at GCHQ
Wednesday 19th October:
- High Sheriff’s South West AGM
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Tuesday 18th October:
- Taste of Gloucestershire Food and Farming Awards 2016, Cheltenham Racecourse
Monday 17th October:
- Visit to Old Stag Cider and Perry Makers
Sunday 16th October:
- The High Sheriff of Bristol’s Annual Legal Service, Bristol Cathedral
- 800th Anniversary commemoration Service of death of King John, Worcester Cathedral
Thursday 13th October:
- Visit to Bristol Aero Collection’s new building in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
Wednesday 12th October:
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Tuesday 11th October:
-
Launch Event for Gloucestershire Hate Crime & Incident Strategy, Gloucester Guildhall
Monday 10th October:
-
Visit to HMP Ashfield
Sunday 9th October:
-
The High Sheriff of Hampshire’s Annual Legal Service, Winchester Cathedral
Saturday 8th October:
-
Opened the newly refurbished Coleford Police Station
Thursday 6th October:
- Gloucestershire Business Awards, Cheltenham Racecourse
Tuesday 4th October:
- Lady High Sheriff’s Luncheon, London
- The Gloucestershire Magistrates Dining Club Dinner
Sunday 2nd October:
- Walk for Wards in Cirencester Park
- HM Lord-Lieutenant’s Annual Awards Ceremony

SEPTEMBER 2016
Friday 30th September: 
- Gloucestershire Constabulary Long Service Awards Ceremony 
- Gloucestershire Constabulary Annual Awards Evening
Wednesday 28th September: 
- Visit to Lilian Faithfull Homes and The Phoenix Centre, Cheltenham in the presence of HRH The Duchess of Gloucester
- Military Preparation College Gloucester Awards Ceremony
- Visit to the Gloucestershire Police Cadets
Tuesday 20th September: 
- Visit to the Whitefriars, Greyfriars and Blackfriars sites in Gloucester in the presence of HRH The Duke of Gloucester
Monday 19th September: 
- Shift with the Forest of Dean Police
Sunday 18th September:
- The Butterfly Garden Gala Presentation, Gloucester
Saturday 17th September: 
- Gloucestershire Police HQ Open Day
- Celebration of 100th Anniversary of the Cyril Hart Arboretum, Coleford
Friday 16th September: 
- The Gloucestershire Playing Fields Association 90th Anniversary Reception
Thursday 15th September: 
- Visit to the Free Law Clinic, Gloucester Salvation Army
- Crossroads Care 25th Anniversary Tea at the Wilderness Centre 
- ‘What If’ Premiere (Police and Crime Commissioner/Road Safety Partnership) at Cheltenham Ladies College
Wednesday 14th September: 
- Tour of Yate with the Mayor
Tuesday 13th September: 
- Visit to Rolls Royce, Bristol
Monday 12th September:
- Visit to GL11 Community Hub
- The High Sheriff of Somerset’s Garden Party
Sunday 11th September:
- Annual Arnhem Service at All Saints Church, Down Ampney 
- Judging the tent pegging competition at The Frampton Country Fair
Saturday 10th September: 
- Henry III Coronation Re-enactment at Gloucester Cathedral
- The High Sheriff of Gloucestershire’s Garden Party at Cirencester Park Polo Club
Wednesday 7th September:
- Visit to the Jama Al-Karim Mosque, Gloucester
Tuesday 6th September: 
- BBC Radio Glos Interview
- Visit to The Everyman Theatre
Monday 5th September:
- Visit to The Lobster Pot at HMP Eastwood Park
- Visit to Avon Fire and Rescue with The High Sheriff of Somerset
Saturday 3rd September:
- Gloucester Day
Thursday 1st September:
- Visit to The Restore Trust, Bristol 
- Visit to OPENhouse, Stroud

JULY 2016
Thursday 28th July: 
- Age Concern Lunch Club, The Forest of Dean
Friday 22nd July: 
- Attended The Royal Agricultural University Convocation
- Opened the new Longfield shop in Cirencester 
- Opened the Old Baptist Chapel in Tewkesbury
Thursday 21st July: 
- Visit to The Daneway Banks celebrating the Gloucestershire Wildlife Trust in the presence of HRH The Prince of Wales
Wednesday 20th July: 
- Day touring the Cheltenham Trust sites 
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Tuesday 19th July: 
- Visit to Gloucestershire Fire Tri Service HQ
Monday 18th July: 
- Visit to Sartorius Stedim in Stonehouse in the presence of HRH The Princess Royal
Friday 15th July: 
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Thursday 14th July: 
- The Kingfisher Treasure Seekers Performance Arts Show, Gloucestershire Police HQ
Tuesday 12th July: 
- Fair Shares Summer Celebration Event, Gloucester
Monday 11th July: 
- Attended the Lillian Faithfull Homes 70th Anniversary event at Cheltenham Ladies College
Thursday 7th July: 
- Attended the HMP Eastwood Park Sycamore Tree Fellowship 
- Visit to The Frith Youth Centre, Bussage
Wednesday 6th July: 
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Sunday 3rd July: 
- The Cotswold Show 
- The Air Training Corps 75th Anniversary Parade & Service at Gloucester Cathedral
Saturday 2nd July: 
- The Cotswold Show
Friday 1st July: 
- The Forest of Dean Verderers Court 
- Service to commemorate The Battle of the Somme at Gloucester Cathedral

JUNE 2016
Tuesday 28th June:
- Cheltenham Magistrates Mock Trials
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Monday 27th June:
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court
Saturday 25th
 June: 
- Opened the Ablington Village Fete
Friday 24th June: 
- Opened the new changing room facilities at Cirencester Open Air Swimming Pool
Thursday 23rd June:
- Attended the 25 Years of Gloucestershire Farming Friends Service 
- Swearing-in Ceremony of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Gloucestershire
Wednesday 22nd June:
- Dinner for Judges Sitting at Bristol Crown Court
Monday 20th
 June: 
- Tasting of The High Sheriff’s Pie at The Weighbridge Inn
- The Battle of the Somme Exhibition at The Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum, Gloucester
Saturday 18th June: 
- Launch of SARA16 Flood Boat, Tewkesbury
- Great Western Air Ambulance Charity Reception
Friday 17th June: 
- The High Sheriff of Gloucestershire’s Afternoon at Highgrove
Thursday 16th June: 
- Opened Mulberry Cottages new office in Cheltenham
- Thanksgiving Service at Gloucester Cathedral
- Spoke at The Women of the Year Awards at Cheltenham Racecourse
Wednesday 15th June: 
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Sunday 12th June: 
- The Royal Agricultural University Patron’s Lunch
- Gloucestershire Young Carers Tea Party
- Cecily Hill Street Party
All in celebration of Her Majesty The Queen’s 90th Birthday
Saturday 11th June:
- Opened and attended the Kemble Church Fete
- The Parish of Yate Celebration Tea Party to celebrate Her Majesty The Queen’s 90th Birthday
Thursday 9th June: 
- Visit to HMP Leyhill with The High Sheriff of Somerset
- Reception to celebrate Her Majesty The Queen's 90th Birthday at HQ ARRC
Wednesday 8th June: 
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Tuesday 7th June: 
- Opened new Cirencester Shop, Beaumont and Brown
Sunday 5th June: 
- The High Sheriff of Devon’s Annual Legal Service at Exeter Cathedral
Thursday 2nd June: 
- The Royal Bath and West Show
Wednesday 1st June:
- Attend on visiting High Court Judge at Bristol Crown Court

MAY 2016
Tuesday 31st May: 
- Visit to The Barn Owl Centre, Gloucester
Friday 27th May: 
- Visit to Gloucester Crown Court with Thomas Keeble and Rednock School
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
Thursday 26th May: 
- Concorde Breaking Ground Ceremony at Bristol Aerospace
Wednesday 25th May: 
- BBC Radio Gloucestershire Interview
- Girl Guiding Gloucestershire Celebration at All Saints Academy, Cheltenham
Tuesday 24th May: 
- Visit to Great Western Air Ambulance Charity, Bristol
- Teach First Career Awareness Workshop at Summerhill Academy, Bristol
Friday 20th May: 
- Midlands Air Ambulance 25th Anniversary Celebration at Hagley Hall
- Charity Dinner & Pride of Forest Awards
Thursday 18th May: 
- South Gloucestershire Getting Court Programme at Bristol Crown Court
Tuesday 17th May: 
- Shift with Gloucestershire Traffic Police Unit
Monday 16th May: 
- Election of the Tewkesbury Town Mayor
Friday 13th May:
- HMP Eastwood Park Book Club
- Night Patrol with Cheltenham Police
Thursday 12th May:
- Attended a Court Martial
Tuesday 10th May: 
- The Royal Garden Party at Buckingham Palace
Monday 9th May: 
- Shift with the Gloucestershire Incident Response Team
Saturday 7th May:
- Badminton Horse Trials
Friday 6th May:
- Visit to The Buterfly Gardens in Cheltenham
- Visit to HMP Eastwood Park
Thursday 5th May:
- Dinner for Judges sitting at Bristol Crown Court

APRIL 2016

Friday 29th April: 
Visit to Gloucester Crown Court with students from Gloucester Academy
Wednesday 27th April:
 
- Visit to the Avon and Somerset Police Headquarters at Portishead
Sunday 24th April: 
- Concert held at Gloucester Salvation Army in aid of The Mayor of Gloucester’s Charity
Saturday 23rd April:
- Katia Centenary Service at St Mary de Lode Church, Gloucester 
- St George’s Day Service at Gloucester Cathedral
Thursday 21st April:
- Beacon Lighting on Robinswood Hill, Gloucester to celebrate Her Majesty The Queen’s 90th Birthday
Sunday 17th April: 
- Declaration of The High Sheriff of Gloucestershire at Gloucester Cathedral